Brevard County Divorce FAQ
201603.03
0

Brevard County Divorce FAQ

How long do I have to live in Melbourne before I can file for divorce? You must live in Florida continuously for six (6) months before you can file for divorce. If you and your spouse have separated before you moved to Florida, the issue of which state has jurisdiction comes into play. Typically, the state where…

Alimony Changes May Be Coming
201602.25
0

Alimony Changes May Be Coming

Currently the Florida Legislature is considering a total revamp of the alimony laws. The proposed revisions can be found in Senate Bill 668. This Bill establishes a formula and time limits for alimony and is proposed to go into effect October 1, 2016. This is a bill and not yet a law, however you may wish to contact…

Relocation of Children
201602.02
0

Relocation of Children

Florida law prohibits relocation of children by either parent more than 50 miles from the address on file with the Court at the time of the Final Judgment. Section 61.13001 Florida Statutes. However, the Courts have recently held that even when the move is less than 50 miles, if there will be a change in the schools…

201504.29
0

Effect of Annulment

Annulment is a legal proceeding initiated to terminate an invalid marriage and to declare that no valid marriage ever took place because of a problem existing at the time of the wedding ceremony. The basic difference between a divorce and annulment is that divorce dissolves a valid marriage, and annulment proclaims that there never was…

201504.29
0

Community Property in Divorce

Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin follow what is known as the “community property” system for marital property. In a pure community property system, property acquired during marriage other than by gift or inheritance from a third party is presumed to be community property and will be divided equally between…